Roition, automation focused on ROI
PL|EN
Blog
Tools20 October 202616 min read

Tidio, Smartsupp, LiveChat, tawk.to or Chatbase: what an AI chat costs

At 300 AI chats a month with 4 customer messages each, monthly billing and before tax, the five paid options cost from $35 (tawk.to) to $210 (Tidio): Tidio Lyro $210, LiveChat $198, Smartsupp Mira $60, Chatbase $60 and tawk.to AI Assist $35. We count Chatbase and tawk.to on a 1-credit model.

For the free chatbot by Roition you pay us $0, and the OpenAI tokens on your key come to about $0.97 at this volume (estimate).

The tools bill AI in different units: Tidio and Smartsupp per conversation, LiveChat per resolution, Chatbase and tawk.to per credit, and with the free chatbot by Roition OpenAI bills the tokens of each message. We convert every amount to a chat of 4 and of 10 customer messages.

Infographic: monthly cost of 300 AI chats of 4 customer messages, monthly billing, USD before tax: Tidio $210, LiveChat $198, Chatbase $60, Smartsupp $60, tawk.to $35, free chatbot by Roition $0 to Roition plus about $0.97 of OpenAI tokens (estimate).
300 chats a month of 4 customer messages each, monthly billing, amounts before tax.

Prices come from the vendors' price lists and help pages checked on 20 October 2026; features from their sites and help pages (read 15-20 October 2026). Smartsupp shows USD prices on its price list next to PLN.

How we count: billing units and assumptions

Five paid tools bill AI replies in four units: a Lyro conversation (Tidio), a conversation as a session (Smartsupp Mira), a resolution (LiveChat) and a credit (Chatbase, tawk.to). The free chatbot by Roition has no per-unit fee: you pay us $0, and you pay OpenAI for tokens on your own key (estimate $0.66-1.06 per 1,000 messages).

Different units, plus the fact that in Chatbase, tawk.to and with an OpenAI key the cost grows with the number of messages, mean the price lists cannot be compared without converting them to a common chat.

OptionBilling unitWhat uses up the unit
Tidio LyroLyro conversationLyro's first reply in a new thread; a thread closes after 15 minutes of inactivity (Tidio help)
Smartsupp Miraconversationa unique visitor session with an AI reply; a later return is a new conversation (price list)
LiveChat (Text)resolutiona chat in which the AI solved the question; several questions in one chat are one resolution (price list)
Chatbasecredit1-5 credits per AI message depending on the model (docs); actions add requests (pricing FAQ)
tawk.to AI Assistcreditfrom 1 credit (e.g. Claude Haiku 4.5) per reply; the default Auto model: 3 credits (tawk.to help)
Free chatbot by RoitionOpenAI tokensestimate $0.66-1.06 per 1,000 customer messages, typically $0.81

Assumptions:

  • a chat is 4 customer messages (typical) or 10 (long), with one AI reply per customer message;
  • Chatbase and tawk.to on a 1-credit model (GPT-6 Luna or Auto in Chatbase, Claude Haiku 4.5 in tawk.to);
  • LiveChat: one seat and every chat counted as a resolution, so an upper bound;
  • Tidio and Smartsupp: AI added to the free plan;
  • Chatbase top-ups ($40 per 1,000 credits) and tawk.to top-ups ($30 per 1,000) do not expire, so we count them pro rata; in the first month they are bought in blocks of 1,000 credits, so spend can be higher;
  • always the cheapest setup on the price list, amounts before tax.

What free plans include

In free plans Tidio gives 50 Lyro conversations once, tawk.to 100 credits a month on the Hobby plan, Smartsupp offers Mira only in the trial, and LiveChat has no free plan. Free chatbot by Roition: you pay us $0 with no chat limit on our side, and OpenAI for tokens (estimate $0.66-1.06 per 1,000 messages).

OptionAI for $0After the limitLive chat for $0
Tidio50 Lyro conversations once per projectLyro stops working, the limit does not reset50 human conversations a month
SmartsuppMira only in the trial: 10 + 25 conversationsMira needs a package25 conversations a month
LiveChatno free plan, 14-day trialnonenone
tawk.toHobby plan: 100 credits a month (about 33 replies on Auto, 100 on a 1-credit model)AI does not join new chats until the limit resets; top-ups only on paid plansyes
Chatbaseprice list: no free plan, 7-day trial; Shopify listing: Free plan, 50 credits, 1 MBnot stated on the sitehelpdesk from the Standard plan
Free chatbot by Roition$0 to Roition, no chat limit on our side; OpenAI tokens on your key (estimate $0.66-1.06 per 1,000 messages), OpenAI prepayment of at least $5once the hard spend limit of the OpenAI project is exceeded, the chatbot stops replying; the balance alone does not stop traffic at onceno live chat

What one AI chat costs

One AI chat on the price lists costs from $0.12 (tawk.to, a 4-message chat on a 1-credit model) to $0.99 (an extra LiveChat resolution). With the free chatbot by Roition you pay us $0 and OpenAI about $0.003 for tokens (estimate).

OptionUnit price (monthly / annual billing)4-message chat10-message chat
Tidio Lyro$0.70-0.78 / $0.58-0.65 per conversation$0.70-0.78$0.70-0.78, if no break longer than 15 minutes
Smartsupp Mira$0.20 / $0.16 per conversation$0.20$0.20
LiveChat$0.99 per extra resolution or $49.50 per 50; 200 resolutions included in Growthup to $0.99up to $0.99
Chatbase$0.04 per top-up credit; Hobby: $40 for 700 credits$0.16-0.23$0.40-0.57
tawk.to$0.03 per top-up credit; Growth: $29 for 1,000 credits$0.12 (Auto: $0.35-0.36)$0.29-0.30 (Auto: $0.87-0.90)
Free chatbot by Roition$0 to Roition; OpenAI tokens $0.66-1.06 per 1,000 messages (estimate)about $0.003about $0.008

In Tidio, Smartsupp and LiveChat the price of a chat does not depend on the number of messages; in Chatbase, tawk.to and with an OpenAI key it grows with every reply. A customer returning after a break counts as another conversation in Tidio and Smartsupp.

What an AI chatbot costs at 100, 300 and 1,000 chats a month

With monthly billing and before tax an AI chatbot costs from $20 (Smartsupp Mira) to $99 (LiveChat) at 100 chats, from $35 (tawk.to) to $210 (Tidio) at 300 and from $99 (tawk.to) to $891 (LiveChat) at 1,000 chats.

For the free chatbot by Roition you pay us $0, and OpenAI tokens cost from about $0.32 (100 chats of 4 messages) to about $8.10 (1,000 chats of 10 messages), estimate.

Where the number of messages changes the cost, the table shows two amounts: a 4 / 10-message chat.

Option (monthly billing, USD before tax)100 chats300 chats1,000 chatsSetup
Tidio Lyro75210700Lyro package of 100 / 300 / 1,000 conversations
Smartsupp Mira2060200packages of 100 conversations ($20)
LiveChat99198891Growth plan, 1 seat ($99, 200 resolutions) and packs of 50
Chatbase40 / 5260 / 132150 / 390Hobby or Standard plus top-ups
tawk.to29 / 2935 / 8999 / 249Growth or Business plus top-ups
Free chatbot by Roition0 + about 0.32 / 0.810 + about 0.97 / 2.430 + about 3.24 / 8.10OpenAI tokens (estimate, typically $0.81 per 1,000 messages)

With annual billing the monthly amounts are: Tidio $62.50 / $175 / $583.33, Smartsupp $16 / $48 / $160, LiveChat $79 / $178 / $871, Chatbase $32-44 / $52-120 / $120-360, tawk.to $24.17 / $30.17-82.50 / $82.50-232.50. Tidio and tawk.to give 2 months free on annual billing, Chatbase 20% off.

On the default Auto model tawk.to uses 3 credits per reply, so 300 chats of 4 messages are 3,600 credits and the Business plan at $99 instead of $35. In LiveChat chats without a resolution do not use the limit, so the LiveChat amounts in the table are an upper bound.

Features next to the price

Live chat with human takeover is offered by Tidio, Smartsupp, LiveChat, tawk.to (AI handoff on paid plans) and Chatbase (from the Standard plan); AI on WhatsApp and Messenger by Tidio, Chatbase, tawk.to and LiveChat.

The free chatbot by Roition works only as an AI advisor on the store website, with products from a Google Merchant Center or Ceneo XML feed.

OptionLive chat and human takeoverAI outside the websiteOrder statusProductsPolish platformsOwn API key
TidioyesMessenger, Instagram, WhatsApp, emailvia Actions, a template for Shopify (Plus, Premium, selected Lyro subscribers)Google Merchant Center XML feed, Shopify, WooCommerceShoper, IdoSell: not stated on the site; PrestaShop: widget codenot stated on the site
SmartsuppyesMira only in the website widgetMira: not stated on the siteGoogle Merchant or Heureka feed, up to 30,000 productsapp in the Shoper App Store; live chat integration with IdoSellnot stated on the site
LiveChatyesWhatsApp, Messenger, SMS (pricing FAQ)AI with order data through the Shopify integration (WISMO page)live catalog only from ShopifyShoper, IdoSell: not in the marketplacenot stated on the site
Chatbasefrom the Standard plan ($150)WhatsApp, Messenger, InstagramShopify action on all planswebsite, files, Shopify; WooCommerce: not stated on the siteShoper, IdoSell: not stated on the sitenot stated on the site
tawk.tolive chat $0; AI handoff only on paid plansMessenger, WhatsApp, Telegram, SMSShopify and WooCommerce from the Growth planwebsite, files, CSV tables; XML feed: not stated on the siteShoper: not stated on the site; PrestaShop: widget modulenot stated on the site
Free chatbot by RoitionnononoGoogle Merchant Center or Ceneo XML feed, website contentany platform with a field for a script tag; no app in app storesyes, OpenAI only (required)

The free chatbot by Roition does not perform actions (returns, discount codes, cart), has no sales analytics from chat, no support with an SLA and no data processing agreement for users.

AI models: Tidio names Claude (Anthropic) and its own models, Smartsupp lists OpenAI among its sub-processors, Chatbase and tawk.to offer a choice of model, LiveChat does not name a model, and the free chatbot by Roition uses GPT-6 Luna by default on the user's OpenAI account.

Which option for which scenario

AI and a human in one chat window are offered by Tidio, Smartsupp, LiveChat, tawk.to (AI on paid plans) and Chatbase (from Standard); AI on WhatsApp and Messenger by Tidio, Chatbase, tawk.to and LiveChat; a product advisor from an XML feed on Shoper by Smartsupp Mira and the free chatbot by Roition.

At 1,000 chats of 4 messages the monthly amounts start at $99 (tawk.to). So the choice comes down to two things: the feature you need and the number of chats a month.

ScenarioOptions that offer it according to vendor sitesWhat to check
AI and a human in one chat windowTidio, Smartsupp, LiveChat, tawk.to (handoff from Growth, $29), Chatbase (from Standard, $150)the free chatbot by Roition has no live chat
AI on Messenger, WhatsApp or InstagramTidio, Chatbase, tawk.to (Messenger, WhatsApp), LiveChat (WhatsApp, Messenger)Smartsupp Mira and the free chatbot by Roition work only on the website
Order status via AI on ShopifyChatbase, tawk.to (from Growth), Tidio (Actions), LiveChat (Shopify integration)on WooCommerce: tawk.to from Growth; Chatbase: WooCommerce integration not stated on the site
Product advisor from an XML feed in a store on Shoper or IdoSellSmartsupp Mira (Google Merchant feed, Shoper app), free chatbot by Roition (Google Merchant or Ceneo feed, script tag)Smartsupp has feed instructions for Shoper, for IdoSell not stated on the site; Tidio has an XML feed, but Shoper and IdoSell are not on its site; Mira $0.20 per conversation; free chatbot by Roition $0 to Roition + OpenAI tokens (estimate about $0.003 per 4-message chat)
1,000 or more chats a monthat 1,000 chats (monthly billing, 4 / 10 messages): tawk.to $99 / $249, Chatbase $150 / $390, Smartsupp $200, Tidio $700, LiveChat $891Tidio, Smartsupp and LiveChat grow with the number of chats, Chatbase and tawk.to with the number of messages and the model
Testing AI at no costtawk.to (100 credits a month), Tidio (50 conversations once), Smartsupp (35 conversations in the trial), Chatbase (50 credits in the Shopify listing, 7-day trial), LiveChat (14 days)free chatbot by Roition: $0 to Roition, but OpenAI requires a prepayment of at least $5

Series posts: each tool on its own

Prices of Tidio, Smartsupp, LiveChat, Chatbase and tawk.to, unit definitions and plan limits are covered in five separate posts of the series:

How to set up the free chatbot by Roition in a store step by step is covered in our chatbot setup guide.

What this comparison does not tell you

The comparison is based on vendor price lists and help pages checked on 15-20 October 2026, not on a test of answer quality of any tool.

The cost of the free chatbot by Roition is a token estimate for the GPT-6 Luna model, not a reading from OpenAI bills; the cost of refreshing the feed and the website on the user's key comes on top.

Smartsupp and LiveChat show prices before VAT, while the Tidio, Chatbase and tawk.to price lists do not mention VAT. "Not stated on the site" in the tables means the vendor's site does not mention the feature, not that the feature does not exist.

The "$0.5 per conversation" slogan on the Lyro page has no matching package on the Tidio price list, so we give the package prices.

An AI chatbot in an online store at 100 chats a month costs from $20 (Smartsupp Mira) to $99 (LiveChat) before tax; for the free chatbot by Roition you pay us $0 and OpenAI about $0.32 for tokens (estimate).

The free chatbot by Roition

Launch the free chatbot: you pay us $0, no chat limit on our side, on your OpenAI key (estimate about $0.81 per 1,000 customer messages, OpenAI prepayment of at least $5).

Robert Szymański
About the author

Founder of Roition, independent Google Ads API developer

Founder of Roition, with almost 3 years of Google Ads experience. Designs and builds process automation for Polish companies: system integrations, handling enquiries and quotes, AI assistants working on company data.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an AI chatbot for an online store cost?

An AI chatbot for a store at 300 chats of 4 messages with monthly billing costs from $35 (tawk.to on a 1-credit model; $99 on the default Auto) to $210 (Tidio), before tax. For the free chatbot by Roition you pay us $0, and the OpenAI tokens at this volume come to about $0.97 (estimate).

Is there a free AI chatbot for an online store?

tawk.to gives 100 AI credits a month on the Hobby plan, Tidio 50 Lyro conversations once, Chatbase 50 credits on the plan in its Shopify listing. For the free chatbot by Roition you pay us $0, with no chat limit on our side, and OpenAI tokens on your own key are about $0.81 per 1,000 messages (estimate); OpenAI requires a prepayment of at least $5.

Tidio vs LiveChat: what does the AI cost?

At 300 chats with monthly billing Tidio Lyro is $210 and LiveChat (Growth plus resolution packs) $198. At 100 chats Tidio is $75 and LiveChat $99. LiveChat counts only chats resolved by the AI. Both tools have live chat with human takeover; Tidio Lyro also replies on Messenger, Instagram, WhatsApp and email, and LiveChat on WhatsApp, Messenger and SMS according to its pricing FAQ.

tawk.to vs Tidio: what does the AI cost?

At 300 chats of 4 messages tawk.to is $35 (1-credit model) or $99 (Auto), and Tidio $210. tawk.to bills credits per reply, Tidio Lyro conversations.

Chatbase vs Tidio: what does the AI cost?

At 300 chats of 4 messages Chatbase is $60, and at 10 messages $132; Tidio is $210 regardless of the number of messages. Chatbase offers human takeover from the Standard plan ($150).

How much does LiveChat with AI cost?

LiveChat costs $25 a month per seat on the Essential plan ($19 on annual billing) with 10 AI resolutions, and $99 ($79) on Growth with 200 resolutions. An extra resolution is $0.99 or $49.50 per 50; according to the price list LiveChat has no permanent free tier, and the trial lasts 14 days.

How much does Chatbase cost?

Chatbase costs $40 a month on Hobby ($32 on annual billing) for 700 credits, $150 ($120) on Standard for 4,000 credits, and $500 ($400) on Pro for 15,000 credits. A Chatbase top-up is $40 per 1,000 credits, and the price list shows a 7-day trial and no free plan; the Chatbase listing on Shopify shows a Free plan with 50 credits.

How much does tawk.to AI Assist cost?

tawk.to AI Assist costs $29 a month on Growth for 1,000 credits, $99 on Business for 5,000 and $399 on Enterprise for 20,000; with annual billing $290, $990 and $3,990. The Hobby plan gives 100 credits a month, a top-up is $30 per 1,000 credits, and tawk.to live chat costs $0.

How much do Tidio Lyro and Smartsupp Mira cost?

Tidio Lyro costs from $39 a month for 50 conversations to $700 for 1,000 conversations, with 2 months free on annual billing. Smartsupp Mira costs $20 a month for 100 conversations ($16 on annual billing), in packages from 100 to 5,000 conversations.

What is a credit in Chatbase and tawk.to?

A credit is the unit used by each AI reply. In Chatbase a reply costs 1-5 credits depending on the model, in tawk.to from 1 credit, and the default Auto model 3 credits.

Let's work out whether automation pays off for you

Book a free introductory call. We will check which process in your company will pay back fastest with automation.

Let's talk
Free process auditNumbers first. We check whether automation pays off for you before you implement anything.30 days risk-freeIf the automation does not prove itself within 30 days, it costs you nothing.